mvfdlogo100
Folk Dance Instructions
(and some Video!)
             
Here are instructions for some of the dances in the repertoire of MVFD.
I have added a few links to videos. These videos are specifically of MVFD dancers and/or the instructor who taught the dance to MVFD.
Want a nifty electronic copy of instructions for over 1100 dances? --->--->--->--->--->-->-->-->--> Check out the MVFD Syllabus Collection on CD - for sale now.
NEW ! --> A directory of miscellaneous instructions and syllabi. Nothing fancy, just scanned pages. Includes individual dances and whole syllabi. Sorry, no index - you'll just have to dive in and browse!
  Want to see instructions at other sites? Click here for links.      
Name of Dance Written Instructions Video Country Type Includes Song Words Added / Updated
A            
A Trip To Bavaria atriptobavaria.html n/a Scottish 4 Couple Set No 7/10/04
Ais Giorgis (St. George) aisgiorge.html n/a Greek Line No 6/15/04
Ajde Jano ajdejano.html n/a Serbian Line Yes 7/9/04
Alley Cat alleycat.html n/a American Solo No 9/4/04
Atlantic Mixer
(Grosser Atlantik)
atlanticmixer.html n/a German Mixer No 10/17/04
An Dro Retourne androretourne.html n/a French Line Yes 6/15/04
Azgagrakan
(Daronee Yerker Yev Barer)
daronee.html n/a Armenian Line No 11/11/08
B            
Ba La bala.html n/a Israeli Mixer Yes 7/9/04
Bal de Jugon, Le lebaldejugon.html n/a French Couple Yes 7/9/04
Ballaristos n/a with Erik Bendix Greek Line No 10/17/12
Ballo Sardo or Ballo Tondo ballosardo.html n/a Italian Line No 7/10/04
Ballo Tondo or Ballo Sardo ballosardo.html n/a Italian Line No 7/10/04
Bannielou Lamboal bannieloulamboal.html n/a French Circle Yes 7/9/04
Baroiges Tanz baroigestanz.html n/a Jewish Set No 7/19/07
Beautiful Ohio beautifulohio.html n/a American Couple No 9/6/04
Besdot Bet-Lechem besdotbetlechem.html n/a Israeli Couple No 11/12/04
Bielolitza Kruglolitza
(Russian Chain Dance)
bielolitzakruglolitza.html n/a Russian Line No 7/31/04
Branle Normand branlenorman.html n/a French Line No 8/8/06
C            
Ceresna (Chereshna) ceresna.html n/a Macedonian Line Yes 10/29/08
Chkiti Lach n/a with MVFD Israeli Couple No 10/17/12
Christchurch Bells christchurchbells.html n/a English Contra No 7/2/04
Clap and Turn clapandturn.html n/a Slovenian Couple No 7/1/04
Corrido (Eso Si, Como No) corrido.html n/a Mexican-American Couple No 7/8/04
D            
Das Tighele dastighele.html n/a Romanian Line Yes 6/30/04
Dar Gorani n/a with Erik Bendix Armenian Solo No 10/17/12
Daronee Yerker Yev Barer
(Azgagrakan)
daronee.html n/a Armenian Line No 11/11/08
Dasme e Rexhes dasmeerexhes.pdf n/a Albanian Solo No 10/17/12
Debka Kafrit debkakafrit.html n/a Israeli Line No 11/12/04
Diu Xie diuxie.html n/a China - Tibet Solo No 11/19/07
Dobrudzanska Raka n/a with Harry Khamis Bulgarian Line No 10/17/12
Dodi Dodi dodidodi.html n/a Israeli Couple Yes 7/9/04
Dzangurica (Skudrinka) skudrinka.html n/a Macedonian Line No 6/16/08
E            
Ersko Kolo erskokolo.html n/a Serbian Line No 7/9/04
F            
Fandango fandango.html n/a English 3 Couple Set No 7/9/04
G            
Ga'aguim gaaguim.html n/a Israeli Mixer No 11/12/04
Grosser Atlantik
(Atlantic Mixer)
atlanticmixer.html n/a German Mixer No 10/17/04
H            
Hanter Dro hanterdro.html n/a French Line No 11/11/08
Hora Chaderah horachaderah.html n/a Israeli Circle No 11/13/04
Hora Habikah (or Bik'ah) horahabikah.html n/a Israeli Circle No 11/13/04
I            
Idle Robin
(Robin Ddiog, Lazy Robin)
robinddiog.html n/a Welsh Circle No 11/11/08
Ikhali Kozachenky n/a with Lina Considine Russian Solo No 10/17/12
Ivanice ivanice.html n/a Macedonian Line Yes 11/19/07
J            
K            
L            
La Mazurka Mexicana lamazurkamexicana.html n/a American Couple No 6/30/04
Lakodalmi Tanc lakodalmitanc.pdf n/a Hungarian Circle No 10/17/12
Lamb's Wool
(The Lamb's Fold,
Pant Corlan Yr Wrn)
pantcorlanyrwrn.html n/a Welsh Trio Mixer No 10/29/08
Lazy Robin
(Robin Ddiog, Idle Robin)
robinddiog.html n/a Welsh Circle No 11/11/08
Le Bal de Jugon lebaldejugon.html n/a French Couple Yes 7/9/04
Le Rond Argentonnais lerondargetonnais.html n/a French Line No 11/19/07
Lerikos lerikos.html n/a Greek Line No 6/30/04
Likrat Kalah (Likrat Shbat) likratkalah.html n/a Israeli Couple No 11/14/04
Louky louky.html n/a Czech Circle Yes 3/12/05
Lousiana Saturday Night louisianasaturdaynight.html n/a American Solo No 7/23/04
M            
Man in the Hay maninthehay.html n/a German Square No 11/19/07
Maria maria.html n/a Israeli Solo Yes 7/9/04
Market Lass marketlass.html n/a American Contra No 7/2/04
Mazurka Mexicana, La lamazurkamexicana.html n/a American Couple No 6/30/04
Milanovo Kolo milanovokolo.html n/a Serbian Line No 5/25/09
N            
Newcastle newcastle.html n/a English Square No 7/9/04
Numero Cinco numerocinco.html n/a American Couple No 7/9/04
O            
Od Lo Ahavti Dai odloahavtidai.html n/a Israeli Circle Yes 7/26/04
P            
Pant Corlan Yr Wrn
(Lamb's Wool,
The Lamb's Fold)
pantcorlanyrwrn.html n/a Welsh Trio Mixer No 10/29/08
Petronella petronella.html n/a American Contra No 7/9/04
Pleskavac pleskavac.html n/a Serbian Line No 7/9/04
Prairie Queen Quadrille prairiequeenquadrille.html n/a American Square No 7/3/04
Q            
R            
Ragtime Frolic ragtimefrolic.html n/a American Solo No 9/4/04
Rankankalia rankankalia.html n/a Finnish Mixer No 11/19/07
Robin Ddiog
(Idle Robin,
Lazy Robin)
robinddiog.html n/a Welsh Circle No 11/11/08
Rond Argentonnais, Le lerondargetonnais.html n/a French Line No 11/19/07
Rueckelreih rueckelreih.html n/a German Line No 11/11/08
Russian Chain Dance
(Bielolitza Kruglolitza)
bielolitzakruglolitza.html n/a Russian Line No 7/31/04
S            
Saint George (Ais Giorgis) aisgiorge.html n/a Greek Line No 6/15/04
Sapri Tama sapritama.html n/a Israeli Solo No 6/30/04
Sham Hareh Golan shamharehgolan.html n/a Israeli Line No 11/8/04
Shiboleth Basadeh shibolethbasadeh.html n/a Israeli Circle Yes 3/19/05
Sirtaki - Song of Joy sirtakisongofjoy.html n/a Greek Line No 11/19/07
Skudrinka (Dzangurica) skudrinka.html n/a Macedonian Line No 6/16/08
Sonata n/a with Ruthy Slann Israeli Solo No 10/17/12
Spiro spiro.html n/a Bulgarian Line Yes 6/24/04
Strumicka Petorka strumickapetorka.html n/a        
Sweets of May sweetsofmay.html n/a Irish Square No 9/4/04
T            
Tanko Bushi tankobushi.html n/a Japanese Solo No 7/7/04
Tarina de la Abrud tarinadelaabrud.html n/a Romanian Circle No 9/4/04
Ten Pretty Girls tenprettygirls.html n/a American/English Mixed lines Yes 10/29/08
Tennesee Wig Walk tenneseewigwalk.html n/a American Mixer No 7/9/04
Trip to Bavaria, A atriptobavaria.html n/a Scottish 4 Couple Set No 7/10/04
Tslil Zugim or Tzlil Zugim tslilzugim.html n/a Israeli Circle No 6/30/04
Tzlil Zugim or Tslil Zugim tslilzugim.html n/a Israeli Circle No 6/30/04
U            
V            
Vrapcheto vrapcheto.html n/a Bulgarian Line No 6/24/04
W            
Well Hall wellhall.html n/a English Contra No 8/17/05
Welsh Square (Wrth Fynd . . .) welshsquare.html n/a Welsh Square No 11/12/08
X            
Y            
Ya Da Kalinushku Lomala yadakalinushkulomala.pdf n/a Russian Circle Yes 10/17/12
Z            
             
             
MVFD Pages: [Home] [General Schedule] [Info Sheet]
Other pages: [Hyll Home Page] [Dayton Dance Groups] [Directons to MSP]
MVFD is a Member of: Miami Valley Dance Council
             
Credits
Copyright Miami Valley Folk Dancers 1996 - 2013
Page last updated 8/10/2013
This page maintained by Leslie Hyll.